The Africa Hub [ATTA] will be holding a webinar on the 29th August 2023 to introduce the Kavango Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area, KAZA.
Transfrontier Conservation Areas are a relatively new concept in the conservation arena. They are founded on the realisation that natural resources that straddle international boundaries are a shared asset with the potential to meaningfully contribute to the conservation of biodiversity and the welfare and socio-economic development of rural communities.
Kavango Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area (commonly referred to as KAZA) incorporates 5 countries (Angola, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia).  There are 36 formally proclaimed protected areas made up of a host of game reserves, forest reserves,  game/wildlife management areas, and communal lands in KAZA and 3 UNESCO World Heritage Sites (Victoria Falls, Okavango and Tsodilo Hills). 

The amount of flora and fauna is outstanding, home to more than half of southern Africa’s elephants, 25% of the world’s remaining endangered wild dog and around 600 bird species. The area is also home to an estimated 2.5 – 3 million people made up of numerous tribes.  They predominantly live off low-scale pastoralism, hunting, fishing, natural resources harvesting and agriculture.  Tourism contributes significantly to local employment.  The aim of KAZA is to improve the socio-economic conditions of the people in the TFC area by harmonizing economic development, tourism and conservation.
To register for the webinar, please visit –

Learn more

To learn more about the KAZA region, visit  

To learn more about the KAZA country Namibia, visit

To learn more about the KAZA country Botswana, visit

, , ,
Similar Posts